Post-Swimrun downtime.

I’ve been enjoying a bit of downtime since Breca Swimrun – Buttermere. I’ve dropped my mileage right off, I’ve only been in the water once, and I’ve been binge-watching Breaking Bad on Netflix.

Steyning Roundhill Romp 2016

This 6 mile trail race came just 4 days after Breca, but recovery was remarkably quick and I promised myself I’d ease my way into it, get a feel for how my body was going to cope and take it from there.
Its billed as having a bit of a hill in the middle, but after experiencing the fells around Buttermere, I knew that I had nothing to fear going into this one.
In fact it turned out I was quite familiar to the hill in question as I used to run it quite a lot a few years ago. Its long, and it keeps on kicking so I knew you just had to be patient with it, don’t try and gun it too soon, and leave enough left to kick on after the crest.
The downhill section after that was amazing, mostly along a winding single track, dancing over the tree roots. I pushed hard along this section, following the 2nd place lady who appeared to float over the tricky bits. Every time she flew round an overgrown blind bend, I would be hot on her heels praying that she hadn’t come to a stop or fallen! This section suddenly opened out into a field and a 26% descent.
This really sorted out those who could run hills, and those who couldn’t. Several people ahead of me put the brakes on and I nearly crashed heavily into the back of them.

elev
I finished in 42:44 (43rd place), a minute or 2 back from where I might have finished if I’d pushed from the start but I thoroughly enjoyed this race. The start is great, there’s a guy on a loudspeaker shouting into the abyss and no-one can hear him, then they stop the traffic for a couple of minutes whilst 500 odd runners line up and tear off down the high street. A proper country village race feel to it.
And then at the end, a medal, an electronic timer and a BBQ. All for the bargain price of £5! Thanks and well done to Steyning AC for putting on this brilliant race.

Tuff Fitty 25th Anniversary Aquathlon

This was a Saturday evening race in the shadows of Arundel castle, 400m swim followed by a 5k run along quiet lanes followed by a BBQ and good times!
I spent the day preparing for it by eating Burgers and Hot Dogs and drinking Corona at a BBQ, got to make the most of this British Summertime, its all too often over too soon!
This scuppered my ability to get up to a good race speed on the run but I think my splits were something like

  • Swim: 6:30
  • Transition: 57s
  • Run: 19:40
  • Total: 27:07

The swim was the first one I’ve done without shoes on for a while, and the first 4 lengths felt amazing, I thought “this must be how fast swimmers feel!”

finish

Once again, no elastic laces and I didn’t race in a tri suit either so had to waste time putting a T shirt on. I think I could do quite well in one of these races with better preparation and nutrition!

A fantastic evening all in all, brilliant turnout from the club, 80 people including those not racing. Well done Tuff Fitty Triathlon Club, and here’s to the next 25 years!

club

Finally – The next challenge

Well, they promised it was going to come back in 2016 but it wasn’t looking likely until a couple of weeks ago, when suddenly out of nowhere I got an email about The Red Bull Steeplechase.

This event was so good in 2014 that I simply couldn’t resist entering as soon as registration went live. This time around its in Exmoor, exactly the same setup as before. 500 runners, reduced steeple by steeple until there’s only 40 left at the finish line.

The first steeple comes at about 8 miles, and the finsh line at 23. I made it to the 2nd steeple 2 years ago when it was in the Peak District so my aim is to go one better than that. The quality of the field will rule me out of the top 20 who get to finish in glory at Lynmouth but I’m going to try and reach the steeple at Lynton at mile 17.

red-bull-steeplechase-training-map

I’ve got about 11 weeks to go so last night I started my training plan with an easy 10 miles. I’m going to try and maintain consistent 50+ mile weeks building up to this one, gradually increasing the intensity week by week until the taper.

I’ll be including 2 quality sessions per week, track intervals and hills, and 3 Strength and Conditioning workouts to supplement my mileage. Hopefully this will make me more robust and better able to hold my form come the latter stages of the race.

 

One thought on “Post-Swimrun downtime.

Leave a Reply

