#Swimrun Training – Week 10

Total Miles: 56 Miles 
Average Pace:
 8:35 min/mile
Longest Run: 16 Miles – 29% of total
Speedwork: 8.1 miles – 14%

(Week Ending 12th June)

So this is the last big mileage week before Breca Swimrun. I’d ideally liked to have banked lots of run miles next week too but its almost time for the taper and some much more specific swimrun training to take place.

This is Race week!
Not the big one, but a chance to put the afterburners on in not one, but two races in the space of 3 days.
First up…..

The Littlehampton Beach Run – West Sussex Fun Run League.

This week, the track session was replaced with a 5 mile race just down the road in Littlehampton. A chance to put our track-based intervals to the test in race conditions.

I messed up my button-pressing when the gun went off, only managing to get my watch started about 30 seconds into the race. I put in a good effort for the full 5 miles, and I’d imagine the mixed terrain of sand, shingle and grass as well as leaping over rock pools and seaweed-covered stones added on a couple of minutes to my overall time.
I’d hope for a comfortable sub-30 on a road 5 miler at the moment so in these conditions I was pretty happy with a finishing time of 30:47. Good enough for 31st place and 2nd club member home after my Breca teammate Tom.

IMG_1871_zpsxweoky1l

Shortly followed by…

The Tuff Fitty Lido Aqauthlon – 400m/5k

This was an opportunity to put my swimming and running together with good solid efforts in both events.
I had a strong well paced swim and climbed out in 6:20, I then took almost half my life to dry my feet, put on some socks and tie my laces, all the while watching other athletes exit the water, slip straight into elasticated shoes and run off. This didn’t bother me in the slightest, the race was a club event so not overly competitive, and there was no way I was risking damaging my feet by going sockless at this stage of my training. I’ll leave that for the next Aquathlon.
My run was probably the most enjoyable 5k I’ve ever done, I literally felt like I was flying. I don’t know what my actual time was, I was clocked at 20:05 from leaving the water to reaching the finish, but I’m sure at least 2 minutes of that were spent in transition. This could have been a new 5k PB and even the sub18 which I think is on the cards, but we’ll never know.

IMG_1928_zpsluqmjmnk

I managed to chase down plenty of runners, but not quite the top 2, no prizes in this race for 3rd place, but if I get my act together in transition next time round it could be a close call at the top. I’m coming for you Tom!

IMG_1964_zpscaacbul0

I’d put in some solid miles on the evenings before these races too, 8 hilly ones on Tuesday night, and 18 on Thursday split in the middle with a 1 hour swim, but everything outside the races was done at an easy conversational pace.

On Sunday I managed to get out in the evening and run some steep hills around Cissbury and Chanctonbury Ring, I came pretty close to turning an ankle on one downhill and narrowly avoided breaking a toe when I kicked a rock extremely hard. I think its my body saying its tired and needs training to end soon. There’s a point just before you taper when you should be right on the edge of peak performance and/or injury, I think I’m just about there!

So for the next couple of weeks, I’m planning on getting used to my race kit, the only thing I’ve tested thoroughly so far are the Gococo socks which I wouldn’t run without now!

Running will be almost entirely on hills or in a wetsuit….or both. And I’m going to have to brave the open water in my wetsuit too and get used to the feeling of swimming in my shoes. I’ll also have to make a decision on the paddles and pull buoy, am I going to need them or not? I have a sneaking suspicion that I’m probably not strong enough for 6k of swimming with paddles.

 

 

 

One thought on “#Swimrun Training – Week 10

Leave a Reply

