May Training

The Numbers:

Mileage for the month – 189 miles
Biggest week – 50 miles
Longest run – 14 Miles

The Positives

I beat my target of 175 miles for the month and I’ve been striking a decent balance between my easy and hard runs. My swimming is good (for me) and I think I’ve now got all my kit in place for Breca Swimrun in July. I’ll go through all my kit in another post soon.
The only thing I’m concerned about is my trainers.
I’ve got my Inov8 X-Talon 212’s which are great in tough conditions, but painful as hell when the ground is hard. I’ve seen a lot of competitors in these and also in the 190’s which have the same grip/lugs on the bottom. The other thing that concerns me is I think the 212’s might get a bit heavy when waterlogged.
I’d love to have a reserve pair of shoes to take up with me so I can decide once I’ve seen the terrain. Something like the Merrell Trail Gloves or maybe the Inov8 190’s as they look like a lighter build.
Light and grippy is what I’m looking for.

The Must Do Betters

A few more miles to go yet before I taper. I’d like to do a tough 16-18 miler with some of the steepest hills I can find locally.
I also need to test my kit, run in my wetsuit, swim in my shoes, get in the sea, and practice with my team-mate Tom. He’s much quicker than me in the water so we need to dial into our perfect team swim speed.
Finally, I need to work on my shoulders/back/triceps. Lots of press-ups, pull ups and hangs. 6k swimming in cold water dragging along wet shoes on my feet is going to be tough on my upper body.

Any Other Business

I’m running a Beach 5 mile race on the 8th of June, not an important race at all, but a nice one to get out and be involved in. My team-mate has just smashed his 10k PB in Lisbon, at the end of a Triathlon no less, so I need to get some good race efforts in.
I’ve also got a club Aquathlon on the 10th of June. 400m swim/5k run I think. I probably won’t go all out on it, but I’d like to run hard off the swim for at least half of it.
Aside from all that, I’m starting to pick up clients requiring maintenance Sports Massage too which is brilliant. I’m looking forward to working with these people over the next few months in an attempt to keep them on the right side of injury.

June Goals:
Mileage: 175 miles
Long Run: 18 miles off road
Swim: Once a week pool, once a week Open Water
Yoga: Every Damn Day
Strength: A daily upper body workout
Kit: test, test and test again.

me & tom – lean’n’green
9 thoughts on “May Training

      1. Argh! I might need to hoard mine if availability is an issue … have 2 in use right now … new ones and old ones. Nuts about them… good luck with the quest!

      2. No my bad it seems I have the 235 at least from the color on the tiny mobile. Will check at home. I know they are trailrocs and the female version. Love them still… might be too heavy for you?

      3. they look nice – most of the trailroc range looks good to be fair but it looks like its been discontinued. (the tread pattern looks similar to my old New Balance MT110AK’s which I loved) I wonder what the replacement line is. Might be the Roclites.

      4. It’s a pitty … I had taken a look at the Roclites in a ‘real’ store, but didn’t feel light enough and wasn’t as bendable (might just be me though). I just checked and the trailrocs are discontinued … oh no.

Leave a Reply

