#Swimrun Training – Week 3

Total Miles: 46 Miles + 2.8k swim + 30mile bike
Average Pace:
 7:54min/mile
Longest Run: 13.2 Miles (Saturday) = 29% of weekly total
Speedwork: 3 miles = 6.5% of weekly total

week3

Happy with the way that week went. I started out with a mini taper knowing that I wanted to run well on Wednesday at the Splash Point 5k. And I closed the week out with a swim/run effort and a half marathon steady paced run.

Favourite Session of the Week

Easily, without a doubt, my nice shiny new PB at the Splash Point 5k. I’m not going to rewrite the report here, but if you want to read the blow-by-blow post of how it went down, then read this post.
In short, the conditions weren’t easy, and I knocked 82s off my previous time with an 18:11. I placed 4th overall and I know there’s more to come. I’m confident I’ll be able to go under 18mins this Summer.

I feel like my swimming is improving every week, especially since I discovered 3:2 breathing. I’m still concentrating so much though that counting laps is beyond me.

Anything Else

I had lots of Deep Tissue massage on my legs on Saturday and Sunday which felt amazing at the time. My HM effort felt sluggish afterwards though and I kept on battling against the voice telling me to stop. I’d look at my watch and think, “I’m still on pace here” so told myself to man up and see it through!

Going Forwards

Next week is going to be a write off for training as I’ve got an exam to prepare for and sit, and my wife is away for most of the week hosting a wellbeing retreat, this means I can’t get out to run at all. I’m going to use these excuses as a forced taper for the 3 Forts Half Marathon though so its all good, hopefully the rest will ensure my legs are coming into it feeling great.

My Breca Swimrun teammate has informed me he’s just ordered this wetsuit. I really need to get some funds together to get mine sorted now. I foresee a clearout of the loft, ebay here I come!

 

 

Leave a Reply

