3 Forts Half 2016 – Pre-Race Goals

I normally keep my race goals to myself, that way I don’t suffer embarrassment if I don’t meet my ambitions.

But…..in my March roundup I set myself and published some race goals for the 5k I did last week. I set A,B and C goals, all of which were better than any time I’d ever run before – and proceeded to surpass all of them.

So I thought I’d do the same for the Three Forts Half Marathon I’m running on Sunday. Why not eh?

I’ve never raced a Half Marathon before, so I’ve got no official race time to beat. In training, Strava tells me that my best HM time is 1:28:31 so maybe I should aim to go quicker than that? It was last Feb after all.

The problem here, is that the 3 Forts route is very hilly, and that time was set on a very flat run. So I look back at my training and find….. this. I’ve run the race route before in training, and very nice it was too. My time back then, Boxing Day of 2013, was 1:48:17. Why the hell was I out running in the afternoon of Boxing Day 2013?

Whilst I’m confident I can beat that, I’m not so sure about going under 1:28.

I know, I’ll feed my recent 5k time into the Jack Daniels pace calculator. That will give me a pace to aim for on the flat sections…

pace

Ha! You’ve got to be kidding me – not sure I’m in that sort of shape Jack!

So I’m just going to go out and RACE

And I mean Properly race, not looking at my watch, not worrying about going too fast in the middle section and not fearing blowing up at mile 11. I don’t care if the wheels come off as it will show me where my limits are. Maybe watching my pace is holding me back and I should run to feel a bit more. Or maybe I’ll report back here next week describing how I went though all sorts of delusional pain just to maintain a walk of shame.

So, following on from a 4th place finish in my last race, I figure that my A goal should be to improve on that.

Goal A
Top 3 (even I’m not stupid enough to aim for the win)

Goal B
Top 10 (I think even this will mean a tough run)

Goal C
Survive the race without twisting an ankle!

Lofty goals there, but as you can see from the last one, I’m really just planning on enjoying the race. I really enjoyed being at the pointy end of the action in my last outing and I want to recapture that feeling in this one.

I want to be surging up hills, making breakaways, and collecting prizes. I realize that I’m probably not quite there yet but hey, I can see how long I can hang on in there for!

4 thoughts on “3 Forts Half 2016 – Pre-Race Goals

  1. Can’t meet or exceed your goals if you don’t have them. Solid goals and who knows, maybe you can surprise yourself with what you are capable of?

Leave a Reply

