Race Report: Splash Point 5k – 18:11

tuffteam
failing to put my arms in the air

Mile 1:
The starter got us underway with an underwhelming “3,2,1…go” and I flew off along the seafront in a desperate bid not to be trampled by all the quicker runners behind me. But where were they all? I had 2 guys in front of me, and my trackmate (wingman) Andy on my right shoulder, matching me stride for stride.
I became aware of another guys footsteps with us, his cadence was quicker and it was putting me off, I zoned out and focussed on my footsteps and breathing.
Split Time: 5:35 (a 1mile PB – Ha! Try holding on to that, muppet)

start
No 384 – centre screen, almost false starting.

Mile 2:
Still feeling very comfortable, the 2 guys in front weren’t going anwhere, Andy and Quickfeet were still on my shoulder. I was still wondering where everyone was. Approaching the turnaround point I nearly got taken out by a radio-controlled car, it stopped me from eyeballing the 2 guys ahead as they came back the other way which was a shame. I came to a standstill as I hit the turnaround and launched into the headwind. I was surprised to see that my group had 30m or so on the next runner. I still didn’t know who Quickfeet was but he was hiding right behind me, and I could hear that Andy was starting to struggle. My pace was starting to drop in the wind and I hit Mile 2 in 5:50.

Mile 3.1:
The reassuring presence of my wingman suddenly disappeared as the wind took its toll. And suddenly, Quickfeet came by me, I slotted in straight behind him and took some shelter. He was really strong into the wind and I lasted about a minute before he dropped me. (In hindsight, I should have stayed with him as he never got further than 30m ahead, once he’d made the gap it was too hard to reel it in). And that was pretty much it, a hard slog into a 16mph headwind with no-one for company.
Split: 6:17 + 0:28s

 

The Verdict

A MASSIVE NEW PB: 18:11 – thats an 82s improvement and 4th place Overall. I’m over the moon but also cursing that wind.

1st place for the both the Mens and Womens Team race too. Result.

running
bringing it home in a solitary 4th place
7 thoughts on “Race Report: Splash Point 5k – 18:11

  1. What a result mate. You looked very comfy when you flew past me. I spotted the car too…that could have been lethal!!! Looking forward to Bognor Park Run next hour month and expecting big things from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

