#Swimrun Training – Week 2

Total Miles: 67.3 Miles + 3k swim
Average Pace:
 7:59min/mile – includes some run walk stuff & half a mile with a 4/yo
Longest Run: 16 Miles (Saturday) = 24% of weekly total
Speedwork: 3 miles = 4% of weekly total

week2
biggest mileage week – ever

Monday: 8 miles – the goal was to maintain a steady pace of 7:30min/mile and to be done in an hour. The route I’d chosen specifically to make this difficult. Twice up to the windmill at High Salvington from 2 different approaches, both involving a mile long climb. I let the downhills take care of themselves as I knew these would be well below target pace.

My Garmin uploads via my work computer so it wasn’t until Tuesday morning that I was rewarded with this on Strava for my efforts. (Always nice to chalk up a Course Record)

crS
Course Record on a tough hill climb

Tuesday: 4 miles recovery at lunchtime, 6 miles steady in the evening.
Wednesday: Track – 8.5 miles including Warmups, cool downs and recoveries
Thursday: Run/Swim/Run – 15.4 miles + 3k
Saturday: Long Run – 16 miles
Sunday: Easy Runs – 7.7 miles + Epsom Salt Recovery Bath!

Track Workout of the Week:

Pyramid Workout
4×200 // 2×400 // 2×800 \\ 2×400 \\ 4×200
Rolling Recoveries: 200m jog after the 200’s, 400 jog all others.
Total: 5.5miles plus warm ups and cool down
Max HR: 177

This one was superb. Cheers to Coach Wardy for suggesting it.  The track session started with a very relaxed atmosphere as we worked our way through the warm up and mobility drills. There were a number of athletes who had just come back from Half and Full marathons in Vienna, a couple of runners who would be racing Brighton Marathon in a few days time and Coach Wardy had just arrived back from a 3 week Road Trip in the USA. Plenty of fun was had picking on Wardy for his newly acquired American accent and we put out a rallying call for the Splash Point 5k next week. (21 Tuffs entered so far I believe – we could be on for a record)

After the long reps of late it was nice knowing the efforts could be run a lot harder. We set off on the first 200m with joyful recklessness, I think Tom hit it in about 33-34 secs although he must have peaked early as he was somewhere behind us for the rest of the session. I kept my 4 reps at a steady 36-37secs (5:00m/m) before we moved on to the 400’s. Two of these both on 1:23 (5:33m/m), so far so good. The dreaded 800’s were next but I actually found these pretty comfortable aerobically. My legs were starting to disagree after the faster work at the beginning of the set, my quads were beginning to feel pretty solid, and my glutes were screaming. Despite this, we went through these in 2:58 each (5:56m/m) and it was onto the faster reps again.
The pace increased as we sailed through the 400’s in 1:25 and 1:23 before we hit the final set of 200’s. My legs didn’t feel like they had anything left in them for hard efforts but I was pleased with 38s, 39s, 34s and 36s.

IMG_20160413_204047
Gococo Compression Socks keeping my calves fresh

This was a fast paced session and I only just about held it together at the end. Those 200’s are pretty much my top end speed, I certainly couldn’t have run those ones at the end any quicker.
I tried to focus on a fast turnover, engaged arms, high hips and really pushing the ground away from me with every stride. It really helps your overall running economy to do quick work like this.

After 10 minutes of chatting I clocked an extra 2 miles to cool down, no-one else stuck around for this but it was a nice evening to idle away some time running round in circles.

A good strong session to go into next weeks 5k race with.

Favourite Session of the Week

Hard to choose actually, I really enjoyed my running, every session felt like I was running well, or at least achieving something. I think the benchmark run for me was my Long Run on Saturday evening.
For a while now I’ve been thinking that my 2 hour pace was about 7:30min/miles and I wanted to go out and test this. I laced up, put some gels in my pocket (one every 6 miles) and off I went to see how long I could hold on. As the miles ticked by I could see I was about 10s quicker per mile, I started having negative thoughts cross my mind and I’d already planned my escape route home if I needed to cut the effort short.
But I remained pretty comfortable throughout, even hitting my quickest split at mile 14. (7:04 if you’re asking) Yes, my glutes were burning but that was to be expected towards the end of a pretty tough week.

My average pace for the run was 7:19 m/m which I’m really happy with. Thats a 16 miler in 1:57. And thats pretty much as long as my longest run is going to get. Anything further than that and I tend to get injuries creeping in. If I can keep up these weeks of high mileage with my longest run only going up to 2 hours then I’m going to be in really good shape come July.

What Else?

My Run/Swim/Run session increased the mileage each way to just over 7.5 miles, and this week it was raining hard. So with the swim in the middle this was a mentally demanding set which I could have backed out of easily at various points.

Finally

3forts
The sensible option!

I made my mind up about the 3 Forts Challenge and decided that the Half Marathon fits into my training much better. If I do the full marathon, I ‘ll get round it, but it’ll wipe my training out for a week with 2 months to go until Breca. So I’ve gone for the half, and I’ll try and race it.

Talking of races, its the Splash Point 5k on Wednesday. I’ll be taking it easy for a couple of days now in the hope of setting a new PB. Bring it on!

 

One thought on “#Swimrun Training – Week 2

Leave a Reply

