#Swimrun Training – Week 1

As I mentioned in my previous post, my Swimrun training block has now begun. And its off to a flying start.

WEEK 56.1

56.1 Miles. That’s the highest mileage week I’ve ever done. Even in the build up to previous marathons. What that tells me straight away is that I’m coming into this training block fitter than I’ve ever been.
Here’s a breakdown of some of the figures I’m most interested in.

Average Pace: 8:12min/mile – reflects lots of easy paced running
Longest Run: 10.5 miles (Sunday) = 19% of weekly total
Speedwork: 5.1 Miles = 9% of weekly total

Track Workout of the Week

5 x 1 mile 
Splits: 6:01, 5:47, 5:59, 6:04, 5:59

Analysis: Good session, strong wind on the back straight made it difficult and a too fast 2nd rep which was lots of fun made the last half tough.

Best Session of the Week

Thursday: My first attempt at a Swimrun specific session.

SWIMRUN SESH

So this was almost a 3 hour session – and as tough, if not tougher, than any 20 miler marathon training run I’ve ever done. It wasn’t exactly how Breca Swimrun will go down in July, I wasn’t wearing a wetsuit and the swim was in a pool, however, the swim also included work at much higher intensities than I’ll experience in the race (4x50m all out sprints for example).
I reigned my pace in on the run to the pool as I didn’t know what to expect, I was terrified of bonking at some point during the evening. I was pleased to hit a quicker pace on my run back home whilst still feeling comfortable.
I took a gel after 10 minutes in the pool as my toes were cramping and I had no electrolytes in my drink.  I took another one as I started the run home. I walked the last 800m to try and ease my legs off a bit before stopping which is why the run home was shorter.
When I woke up on Friday morning, EVERY muscle in my body ached. I’m not exaggerating here. I must be mental because I can’t wait to do one of these sessions again!

Any negatives?
I didn’t get any off-road work in, and I could do with getting some more hills in too. On the swim I’d like to try and get an endurance session with a pull buoy in as well as the club swim.
Other than that, I probably broke one of the cardinal rules in training. The one about increasing training load by 10% at a time.

WEEK

My previous week was almost a complete rest though so I can live with that!

N.B: Will endeavour to utilise my Heart Rate Monitor as I’d like to see the trends over the training block.

3 thoughts on “#Swimrun Training – Week 1

Leave a Reply

