March Training

I didn’t really have any goals as I kicked off March which was probably a mistake.
I’d set myself an arbitrary figure of 200 miles for the month on Smashrun – a great tool with some really useful insights into your running stats. I’m currently using this alongside Strava to satisfy the inner geek. But this magic figure of 200 was pretty much plucked out of the air, it wasn’t based on a plan, it didn’t take into account my February training. It was just a round number.

I got off to a good start though, and hit almost 4 weeks of good solid running. I’m still pushed for time at the moment so I only managed to get into double figures on a run twice.
Unfortunately, I lost momentum and in the final week, the wheels came off. I dropped down to a ridiculously low 5 mile total for the week. I put this down to not having clearly defined goals for the month.

The Numbers:

Mileage for the month – 150 miles
Biggest week – 41.6 miles
Longest run12 Miles (plus 5 miles – Double run day)

smashrun march

Positives:
My mileage did increase. Up by 21.5% on Feb.
I’m finding Double run days manageable.
My longest run was most of the 3 Forts HM route – in the dark, by headtorch and it was amazing. On reflection, the distance is probably appropriate for my weekly mileage.

The biggest positive for me though is my ability to maintain effort and focus during track sessions. This time last year I’d hit the halfway point during a workout and my thoughts would all be negative

I can’t do this, Its too windy, I’ll sit the next rep out, I’ll call it a day…

But I’m finishing track sessions strongly now, and I’m feeling hyped throughout, no demons on my shoulder whispering at me to stop. And these have been HARD track sessions, 1200’s and mile repeats, you soon know about it if you pace it wrong in one of these sessions.

Unfortunately, swimming hasn’t happened this month. Not even once.

I’m going to chalk the final week of March off and call it a training break as April is where my 3 month block starts for Breca Swimrun.

April goals:
Mileage: 175 miles
Long Run: 16 miles
Swim: Once a week
Race: 5k  – (‘A’ = 18:30, ‘B’ = Sub19, ‘C’ = 5kPB)

I’ve got the 3 Forts Marathon at the start of May and I’m still undecided on what to do. I can run it very easy and enjoy the scenery, the company, and get some miles in my legs. Or drop to the HM and race it. I’ll make a decision closer to the date, and base it on how well my long runs are progressing.

In other running related stuff – the beginners group I coach with ShoreFit Run Club finished their 0-5k course. And my wife and 4 year old son ran the Sport Relief Mile, raising £270 for charity in the process! This was a great opportunity for him to experience running on a running track, and now every time we drive past it he points it out to me as where he did his race.

I also passed my ITEC Level 3 Sports Massage Therapist exams and I’ll be posting more on that soon. I’ve moved on to Level 4 now which I’ll be tested on in April. Lots to learn, but have already picked up so much that I can use to help other runners, especially with regards to maintenance and injury prevention.

 

4 thoughts on “March Training

  1. Solid stats there. Lots to be proud of. Keep up the good work! It’s nice to see people are still doing their stuff. I’ve been sidelined from running for a few weeks by a bicycle crash and I can’t wait to get back out there on the trail!

    1. just caught up on your blog Josh, that crash sounds horrible, metal posts in bike lanes….why do they think that thats a good idea? A friend of mine did something very similar on one of those E-Bikes (serves him right?) and damaged his shoulder quite badly.
      Your positivity in the face of it is inspiring – Happy (belated) Birthday to you!

Leave a Reply

