February training

So how did February look for you? For me it went quite well. Despite not racing at all I’ve managed to get in some quality training.

Mileage for the month – 123.5 miles
Biggest week – 48 miles
Longest run14 miles

That’s starting to pick up nicely, with my biggest week coming in the final week of Feb. And in fact, that’s my biggest week since the same time last year.

biggestweek

My little boy is also training for his first race, the Sport Relief Mile and its been great fun encouraging him to start running. He’s managed a 16:13 mile so far which involved a lot of jumping over drains, walking to cross roads and stopping to point at his school.

me&sonny

I’m hoping to carry through some consistency into March, keeping my mileage at a minimum of 40 per week and adding a 90-120min long run in each week. My track sessions are strong at the moment, sub-6:00min/mile pace in big sessions. We’ve just moved into 1200 reps (5 of them this week) and I’d like to see my splits closer to 5:45min/mile if I can manage it. Although I’m not going to break myself trying.

My limiting training factor is time.  My other half works several evenings a week, often not getting home until 9:30 and that’s not a good time to go out running. So I’m trying to squeeze runs in where I can. For instance, my trip to the launderette gave me £2’s worth of time – which I’ve now learnt translates to a fast 4 miles. I’m running on my lunchbreaks too. In fact, my biggest training week in 12  months came without running further than 8.5 miles in a single session.

My swimming is improving, I’ve managed to get to one session a week which at the moment is focussed on strength. That means lots of climbing in and out the pool to do press-ups, squats, tricep dips and planks, and swimming in T-shirts with pull-buoy and paddles. This is a great session for me as it really addresses my weaknesses. I’m hoping to start doing a weekly distance/endurance session soon, to really work on my pull. I want to be able to use paddles comfortably by the time Breca Swimrun comes around in July as it will make a huge difference in the swim times.

Other training,  I’ve been doing a press-up challenge since the beginning of Feb, starting at one and adding one each day. So today it will be 30 press-ups. A month ago I couldn’t have done 10 without stopping so I’m pleased with my progress here. I don’t think its been an increase in strength, but more a neurological thing. Engaging the right muscles to achieve the goal. Whichever it is, it should help my swimming, and I might even develop a chest that comes out further than my abs.

I think the biggest plus I can take from February is that I’ve come out of it without any niggles. I’ve increased my mileage and I’m injury free. I have to thank Gococo Sportswear for helping me out here, my compression socks are awesome.

 

5 thoughts on “February training

  1. Lack of time has been my greatest enemy in February too, and from the way March has started I think it will be a similar tale this month. Interesting to hear that your biggest week came from short runs, I think I’m probably guilty of thinking I need more time than I actually do for it to feel “worth it”.

    1. Thanks for reading. I’m going to be hard pressed to find the time for 50 miles this week, I can see that already. I’ve got a work night out, a weekend in Whitstable and 2 evenings of Sports Massage booked in. 50 miles will be a miracle! (There’s always next week)

  2. That is a solid month! Very nicely done. Time is always a factor and it’s not going to change anytime soon. I work 8-5 currently so I’ve been running every morning 5-6 or so during the week with long runs on weekends.

    I’m Baha’i though and our 19 Day Fast just started. No food or drink from sunrise to sunset. I’m planning on cutting back on mileage to allow for the daylight hours to be recovery.

    Once again, well done!

    1. 5am? wow that takes some doing. I can’t get out of bed for that! Sounds like cutting back the mileage is a good idea, you’d quickly burn out trying to maintain training levels whilst fasting. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

