Training Snapshot

Here’s a little snapshot as to how my own training is going. I’m managing to run in my lunchbreak at the moment which means although my mileage is fairly low compared to lots of runners, the quality is high.

Monday: I ran what I call a “Super-Tempo” effort, this is a mile warm-up followed by 12 minutes at what I would like my current 5k pace to be. Then a mile cool down. Each week, I’ll add a minute on to the length of the effort until I’m either happy to race it or step back to a shorter quicker effort and start again. Splits in the effort were 5:57, 5:58.

Tuesday: 10k (not so) easy. I thought this was going to be a really tough run as the wind had really picked up. The first 5k was straight into it and I put in a good effort, the 5k return along the seafront was much easier and I was able to coast it all the way. I was still able to chat with a guy on a bike during the last 800m so I knew it was still a fairly relaxed effort. I was quite surprised to see my splits as: 6:22, 7:02, 6:55, 6:37, 6:32, 6:27 and finishing up at 6:34. Thats more like a solid threshold pace for me.

Wednesday: Bit of a cold & felt stiff  from the previous day so decided to get to the track 10 minutes early for an extra warm-up mile. So 2 miles warm up for me, followed by 15 minutes of drills and dynamic stretches. The main set was 9x800m on 4mins. The warm up did its magic and I felt really good throughout. Pleased to be able to pick it up in the second half of the set too. 6.8 miles in total, annoying that I couldn’t round it up to 7 but I had no time for a cool-down.

DATA

Thursday: That’s today…I’m struggling a bit with a cold and I had a terrible nights sleep but the weather is glorious so I’ll be doing an easy 5 miles along the seafront at lunchtime, that should blow the cobwebs away. Then it’s Tuff Fitty Swim night and I’ll be heading over with my Breca Team-mate Tom.

Hoping to clock 35 miles this week which I haven’t done since mid Dec and then maintain for a few weeks before targeting some more specific plans. (whatever they might be!)

Enough about me…How’s YOUR training going?

 

8 thoughts on “Training Snapshot

  1. That is some solid training. I’m logging the miles for sure but need to start focusing on getting actual “workouts” in there. All my stuff is early morning in the cold dark currently. Gotta fix that. Now to make running my job….

    1. I love 800’s, in fact, I just love the track. We’ve got 2 more weeks of 800s left, finishing on 11 reps. Then we test ourselves with a 3k time trial, and move onto 1200 reps. All base building, not flat out.

    1. Thank you! A few weeks of those until i’m up to 2.5 miles and I think i’ll have a crack at parkrun. 5:45’s to go sub18. A decent warmup and racing flats, it might be close. Current pb 19:32 so anything under that is a result really.

Leave a Reply

