How I’ve recently become mad about socks….

My sock drawer is overflowing. 2 reasons for this:

  1. My sock drawer is actually quite small
  2. I’ve gone a bit mad with new socks

You see, I’m a runner and if I’m going to be so particular about which trainers best suit my foot, and then which trainers best suit the terrain I’ll be on. I might as well be particular about not getting blisters.

So I’ve been testing out a few different brands and I’ve come up with some favourites. I thought I’d share these on here, particularly in the context of SwimRun.

3rd Place: Bridgedale
Who Are they? British company making socks for hiking, running, cycling, ski-ing, mountaineering etc etc. Outdoorsy type stuff.

bridgedale

What are they like?  I’ve got pairs of the Speed Demons & the Speed Trail and they are WARM! Probably down to the Merino Wool content. Perfect winter socks for when the tarmac or trail is freezing cold.  They hold the water a bit when they get wet but they stay warm. These have quickly become my favourite sock for the bike.

As a sidenote – Bridgedale also make this great reversible hat which is perfect for going under a helmet and its been stuck on my head all winter so far.

hat2

2nd Place: Feetures!
Who Are They? A family run company from Charlotte, North Carolina. Designed for Runners by Runners.

merino-lc-quarter-matrix2b
Feetures! Elite Merino+

What are they like? Fantastic. I’ve got a pair of the Elite Merino+ and two pairs of the Elite Ultra Light. The Merino ones are super warm, and the Ultra Lights really are Ultra Light. The edge these have got over any of the others I’ve tried is the compression around the foot. They feel like your foot is getting a gentle hug from the moment you put them on. They’re not touted as compression socks but that’s one of the reasons why they’ve almost hit top spot.

1st place: Gococo (Swimrunners take note!)
Who Are They? Award winning Swedish sports & compression socks, quickly becoming synonymous with SwimRun. Scandinavian functional design.

gococo
Gococo Compression Superior

What are they like? Perfect. I’ve got almost the full Gococo range here. The sport socks do everything you want them to, they’re light, blister-free, no seams, and pretty cool making them suitable for races and hard efforts. Those are the sort of sessions where you don’t want your foot to feel heavy and warm inside your shoe.
But where they really excel is in the long compression socks.
These offer stabilization through the calf, and if you believe the compression hype they allow increased circulation throughout the muscle whilst active. Now, I don’t know about that, but I’ve raced in these up tough hills and done hard track sessions in them and my recovery has been almost instant. If that’s down to the socks then my sincerest thanks go to the brains behind the design!
They also work with “37.5 Technology” to help maintain optimum body temperature, this is something I’m sure we might see spread to more winter apparel here in the UK.

In a Nutshell
These socks dry quickly, keep your legs at optimum temperature and provide support for your calf muscles. They don’t rub and they look good. For a Swim-runner, they are like the Holy Grail in sock form. Thoroughly recommended.
What socks do you run in?
Any Swimrun sock tips?

 

 

6 thoughts on “How I’ve recently become mad about socks….

  1. I am very excited about socks now, who knew that was possible? I’m probably going to check them all out to be honest. The Gococo and Feetures sound like perfect socks for all the running I do and I bicycle commute to work so the Bridgedale socks sound perfect for my very cold winter commute.

Leave a Reply

