TEAM PROFILE – TRI ENERGY MUMS

No. 2 in the Breca SwimRun team profiles – this week we have our first female team. We got in touch via twitter last week which gave us the chance to fire a few questions over.

Team Name: Tri Energy Mums
Team Members: Sam Anderson & Lenka Moore
Team Motto: UNITED WE SWIMRUN!

3 word foreword: THIS IS EPIC!

Who are you, where are you from and how do you know each other?
Hi – we’re Sam & Lenka from Stourport on Severn near Worcester. We met through our Tri Club and in turn set up a Kids Tri Team (Tri Energy Kids) where we coach together every Monday night. Lenka’s 2 children come to the kids tri club too. We’ve known each other for 3 years and always have a good laugh!

Sam & Lenka
(L) Sam Anderson sporting GB Kit (R) Lenka Moore showing off her trophies and children!

What do you do when you’re not jumping into lakes with your shoes on or running round in wetsuits?
SA –
I’m on maternity leave at the moment! So I can be found shaking maracas, drinking tea and talking to other Mums about feeding, sleeping and nappy changes! I’ve also started local buggyfit classes for Mums in the area which we do three times a week.
LM – I am an accountant running a business with my husband. This allows me to work from home a lot so I can be there for the kids. And I like running round in shoes and swimming in my wetsuit, I have just never done it all mixed together so it should be fun.

What attracted you to Breca SwimRun?
SA
– I’ve raced close to 100 multisport events and was looking for something different. I had my son Bobby in June of this year and knew time would be limited in terms of being able to train on the bike etc so I wanted an event that had a bit more running in as I can get out running with Bobby in the buggy anytime I like. We live near Wyre Forest which has some lovely hilly routes – not quite the Honister Pass though!!!
LM –  I have done triathlons for about 4 years and fancied something different so when Sam asked me to be her partner I jumped at the opportunity.

Team Dynamics: Whats going to give you the edge over everyone else?
SA – The bike is my strength, which is a bit of a problem! Ooops! Other than that my strength is doing things for other people. I love helping and supporting and encouraging others and even if I was on my last legs I’d tell Lenka I was enjoying it to keep her spirits high! I’d hate to let her down and so I think that loyalty to each other will really boost us and keep us going.

LM – I am quite chilled and level headed so I am hoping to feed off Sam’s enthusiasm and keep us on the right track. We will definitely be there for each other when the going gets tough.
We are both mums and I think that gives you mental strength you never knew you had.

Are you happy with your teammate?
LM – Sam’s original choice of a partner changed her mind (I wonder why??) so I was really chuffed when Sam asked me!  She is a better swimmer than me so I am hoping for a tow and I will definitely be in charge of the map!
SA –
We are very similar swimmers actually, so that’s an advantage. We live really close to each other too so hoping that being local means we can drag each other out to train! I’m hoping Lenka’s sense of navigation is much better than mine – I ended up waddling through the River Severn at 38 weeks pregnant trying to get home as I’d taken a wrong turn!

Waddling through the River Severn?”
SA –
I’d walked for 2 hours at 38 weeks pregnant to get to a group called ‘Bumps and Babes’. I had totally underestimated how long it would take me. On the way home I was convinced I could find a quicker route but got totally lost and when I saw the river I knew I should be the other side of it! I started wading through it but then came to my senses! When I eventually got a signal (I was in the middle of nowhere) I had to call a friend to come and rescue me!

Have you looked at the course map yet? Is there anything making you nervous?
SA – errr…not really looked at that yet – ignorance is bliss!
LM – I am with Sam on this one. Lake district is beautiful so I am looking forward to the views.

What have you done in the past? Give us a bit of background.
SA – I’ve raced triathlon since 2009. I won British and European Age Group Gold in 2013 and then 2 more European medals in Duathlon and Aquathlon in 2014. My claim to fame was spotting myself on TV after doing a few of the British Elite Super Series races (I was being lapped!) This year I’ve done absolutely nothing and struggle to run 5km at the moment! I’ve not swum since April and my bike is still in the bikebox from the 2014 Canada World Champs! I’m hoping this epic race will scare me into training sooner rather than later!
LM – Sam is my claim to fame. I am racing with a European champion!! I started doing triathlons to keep fit and I wanted a challenge. My children were quite young so finding time to train has always been a problem for me. I have won a few local races and got to represent GB in 2013 in my age group. But now the kids are growing up, they started joining in with Sam’s tri club so I feel ready to take on something epic and this is where Breca swim/run comes in.

Proving to the kids that Mum’s still got it eh? Or just setting an example/Showing them what can be achieved?
LM
: A bit of both!

Are you planning on any particular races in the build up?
SA
– we’ve seen some random orienteering races that are close to home. I’ve also entered some off road trail runs through the winter; and we’ll keep chipping away at our local park run – that killer hill at the end with a buggy has got to count for something?
LM – Our local park run has a few hills in it and the whole family can join in. Cross country races are always good training, the Gloucestershire league is fab. And I am sure we will find some longer off road races in new year.

Will you be making a weekend of it or is it a splash,dash & grab?
SA – I’d go for a week if we could!!! We’ve persuaded friends Sophie and Caroline (Team Mad Chicks) to race too – we’ll be competing with them to avoid the wooden spoon! So the plan is for us all to go and stay in a big house together and drink wine and talk about how good we could have been if it wasn’t for x, y and z!
LM – Funny we have organised the weekend and the party, invited friends, planned the food and wine and haven’t even looked at the race details! We must sort out our priorities!

Lenka & Team Mad Chicks
Lenka, Agnetha, Anni-Frid & Caroline (Team Mad Chicks) The SwimRun afterparty looks like it might be fun!

A bit of friendly rivalry? Lets just set it out now in writing, lay down the challenge, so everyone can see it – Are you going to beat them?
Well let’s just say the beauty of an endurance event means anything can happen! We’re secretly hoping that Caroline spots a pub on the route and gets sidetracked to go and have a glass of red vino; and that just the one will turn into her retiring from the race!!

Are there any questions you’d like to put to other teams/organisers/experienced swimrunners? Anything you’re curious about?
SA – would anyone like to donate us some kit??? 
LM –
 I have loads of questions! I would like to know what kind of food will be provided at the feed stations. And what kind of shoes are the best to swim in? How to prevent chaffing and blisters? Socks or no socks? Are the lakes quite cold? What if I need a loo?…..

Good questions, I’ll be putting some of these questions to experienced swimrunners and to the race director in the near future.
Brill, thank you!

If you’d like to have your team featured, or maybe you’ve done a SwimRun event before and want to share valuable experience with others. Get in touch and we can fire some questions at you.

3 thoughts on “TEAM PROFILE – TRI ENERGY MUMS

  1. Definitely wear socks!! And even though our team were given these, I can highly recommend Gococo socks. We wore the knee high compression ones (which help keep your legs warm as well). They are so comfy and are made of a special material that is very quick drying. I even wore them for days during an adventure race trekking through bogs and streams. We didn’t get any blisters!

Leave a Reply

