Team Profile – Tuff Fitty

In the first of a series of team profiles for Breca SwimRun 2016 I’ve kept things close to home, starting with our own team. We took a few minutes to answer a few questions…

Team Tuff Fitty - working on our pre-race nutrition
Team Tuff Fitty – working on our pre-race nutrition – Tom (left) Marchy(right)

Team Name – Tuff Fitty 
Team Members – Tom Goddard & Dave March

Who are you, where are you from and how do you know each other?
TG:
This sounds a bit like blind date. ‘Hi I’m Tom from Worthing and I’m looking for a brummy with killer glutes and triceps’. I know Marchy from the local tri club (Tuff Fitty) as the member who has done the fewest triathlons (1 I think!).
DM: one and a half actually if you count the relays.
TG: He is also my running coach at the track and makes me run round in circles really fast.
DM: I’m Dave, better known as Marchy. I’m from Birmingham originally and moved to Worthing about 6 years ago after a short stint in France. It’s nice here but it means travelling huge distances to all the really interesting races.

What attracted you to this race? Why Swimrun, why not a normal race!?
TG
: I normally like to go fast and find endurance events a bit boring but I feel with the varying, challenging terrain, epic scenery and having a buddy along for the journey I might just about be able to tolerate this one. Plus I’m sick of racing triathlons where I come out of the water in the lead, everyone overtakes me on the bike and then I have to overtake them again on the run.
DM: I like to do 1 big daft race each year and it didn’t take much to persuade me to do this one. The scenery for Breca SwimRun looks stunning and if I’m honest, the bike part of triathlons is the bit I like least, so I’m more than happy to race a multiple aquathon.
I also like the fact its on a Saturday, which means chip shops should be open for glorious post-race nutrition.

What do you each bring to the team? Give us a SWAT analysis.
TG
: I’ll bring a tow rope for Marchy on the swim, the possibly delusional belief that I can win every race that I enter, and the ability to still crack bad jokes in a race when most people are struggling to breathe. Marchy brings an amusing accent, even more amusing hair/ facial hair and some pretty tidy running skills.
DM: Cheers Tom, I’ll get yow for that. Strengths: Tom, Weaknesses: Me. Threats: Toms air of supreme confidence? Our ability to not take it very seriously? Our potential to get a bit carried away the night before?

Are you happy with your teammate? Or is it more a case of being the only other idiot you could find?
TG
: Yeah we’ll definitely win.
DM: He’s definitely an idiot.

Have you looked at the course map yet? Is there anything causing you to wake up in the night in a cold sweat? 
TG:
It is a fairly hefty distance to run but hopefully the interesting terrain will occupy my mind rather than how far it is until the next swim. I also hate the cold so it would be nice if the next one we did could be in the Med or somewhere nice and warm like that.
DM:
The hill at the end is worrying me, there’s escalators right?

Elevation Profile
Elevation Profile

I’m also terrified of getting lost. Roaming the peaks in half a wetsuit. Whats that film now? Sightseers….have you seen that? There’s nutters out there in the wilderness.

Its still early days, but have you thought about race tactics yet?
TG
: I’m sure we can devise some sort of tethering system which could also prove useful for tripping up our opposition when exiting the water. I think we are fairly evenly matched on the run and I see this as the key area of the race as we’ll spend more time running.
DM: My plan is simply to try and keep up with Tom, If I can do that then the race might look after itself.

What have you done in the past?
TG
: I used to race mountain bikes and be a swimmer and water polo player. I now race triathlon and have represented the GBR age group team. I have done a marathon and swam the channel before so I have a history of agreeing to stupid challenges.
DM: I used to smoke and drink and play records to others who were smoking and drinking until 5 years ago. Since then I’ve done Brighton & London Marathons, the Red Bull Steeplechase and the Downslink Ultra – some of it anyway.  Our team looks a bit mis-matched here doesn’t it?
TG: You must have some sporting acheivements?
DM: I won a set of tyre levers at Southwater Tri Relays for having the Best Moustache. I’m hoping to better that to be honest. If we come away with a trophy, the tyre levers will definitely be relegated from the mantlepiece, but maybe we should grow tache’s just in case. Other than that, I recently beat Tom in a cross country race, he must have been having an off day. Maybe he wanted to give me a confidence boost, either way after that result I’m confident we can win this.

Are you planning on any particular races in the build up?
DM:
I’m going to do the 3 Forts marathon as its on my doorstep and takes in the toughest terrain we’ve got on the South Downs. What about you Tom?
TG
: Nothing specifically to prepare for this. I am doing the Darth Mannion Beach and Swamp ½ marathon (DM: tagline, “A run for idiots” – I rest my case) in Wales and the olympic distance ETU champs in Lisbon before but most of the prep will be long hilly trail runs over the south downs, a lot of sea swimming and some specific swim-run-repeat session with the wetsuit and soggy trainers. When did you last swim Dave?
DM: About 18 months ago. unless you count standing in a cold pool with my 4 year old boy as his lips turn blue.
TG (starting to look worried): Are you going to do any swim training?
DM: Nah. I’ll just rock up on the day. Although building up to that I’ll probably keep promising to do some. At the moment, I don’t even own a wetsuit.

Would you like a crack at oTillo if this goes well?
TG
: Yes. How do we qualify?
DM: I anticipate this might be our first and last race together. I’ll be amazed if we return in the same car.

Assuming you’re going to travel up together, have you got any must-haves for the soundtrack?
TG
: I am loving Benjamin Booker, Alabama Shakes and Teleman at the moment but I know Marchy is a boy of the 90s so we’ll need to chuck some Stone Roses and Massive Attack in there too!
DM: You can take the boy out of the 90’s…. I’d like a bit of Chemical Brothers, LCD Soundsystem and Hot Chip too. In my world, new music stopped being made when my son was born, it got replaced with things like The Gruffalo, and The Hungry Caterpillar, I could bring those?

Have you got any SwimRun equipment on your Xmas list?
TG
: If Santa’s reading this a Zone3 Evolution wetsuit would be ace! Other than that I have a pull buoy and hand paddles and can drill some drainage holes in my trail shoes.
DM: I’m going to have to get handy with a pair of scissors to create a budget swimrun wetsuit, will have to do without pockets though. Must remember to take feet out of shoes when drilling holes too.

 

Now you’ve got to know our team a little bit more, maybe you’d like to have your team featured. Or maybe you’ve done a SwimRun event before and want to share valuable experience with others. Get in touch and we can fire some questions at you.

I want to know who we’re racing, lets make this personal!

2 thoughts on “Team Profile – Tuff Fitty

Leave a Reply

