Calling All SwimRunners!

As you may know, I’m doing Breca SwimRun in 2016 (here’s my previous post on it) and I got to thinking about the other teams involved. The entry list has been doubled from 50 to 100 teams due to demand which means there could be 99 other teams out there on July 2nd that me and Tom will be racing against.
If you’re reading this, that might include you?

In my initial excitement of entering the race I searched for race reports, reviews, equipment tips and other articles. And unsurprisingly, I came up with very little. SwimRun is very much in its infancy. 2015 saw just 3 UK races – The Lake District, Loch Ness & Loch Lomond.
However, its definitely growing, 2016 sees races in Snowdonia, and in the outer Hebrides too. And in addition, established races are introducing shorter distances, SwimRun Sprints if you like, which makes it more accessible to first-timers. I’ve also found LoveSwimRun which looks like it might become a valuable resource for UK SwimRunners.

So I thought I’d do my bit to keep the momentum building. I’m excited about this race, I’m fascinated about the other participants, I’m curious as to how it all works on race day. I can’t wait to find out what it will feel like at the top of the fells looking down on Lake Buttermere. And I might develop all this at some point into a dedicated SwimRun Website.

So via Twitter and Facebook, I’ve started getting in touch with some of the teams and running some interviews. If you’d like to be involved then please get in touch. If you’ve taken part in a SwimRun event in the UK, or if you’ve got one booked in the calendar then I want to hear from you.
Lets build the sport together, and grow a community with it.

I’ll be kicking things off very soon with a profile of our own team. We’ll be posing questions to each other and I hope we’ll still be friends by the end of it.

I look forward to hearing from you.

2 thoughts on “Calling All SwimRunners!

Leave a Reply

