My Running Week – w/e 26/7/15

Totals

  • Run: 23.2 miles
  • Bike: 42.7 miles

This is how I’m going to post about my weekly training from here on in. A quick summary at the top and a few observations/quirks/anecdotes underneath. This way, if you don’t want to read my ramblings but you’re interested in my numbers (weirdo) then its all there and easy to read.

Lunchtime #cycling past #shoreham airport (#brighton city airport) cross training in preparation for #downslink #ultra #running

A post shared by Dave Wilson March (@davewilsonmarch) on

This week started well but unfortunately a wedding at the weekend meant that I missed my long run – being stuck in the car on motorways on the busiest travelling day of the year meant the last thing I wanted to do was run 15 miles.
The good news though is that my legs have felt really strong this week, I thought the introduction of 2 bike sessions (an hour long each) might have taken its toll on me a little bit but it would appear not. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get a full quota in for a few consecutive weeks now as I’m really starting to feel like my fitness is coming back to me.
This weeks track session was mentally tough, I’d set this up so that those club members who were racing Worthing Triathlon could just do half the set leaving anyone else to continue with the 2nd 6 reps. Unfortunately for me, that meant that my group dwindled to just myself for the final 5 reps which made it really challenging to maintain the pace. I didn’t do too badly though and kept it between 5:30 and 5:45 min/miles throughout.

My 8 miles in Birmingham was good fun, it was absolutely chucking it down, a refreshing change from the humidity of late. My route was undulating and took in a few miles of Sutton Park, a fantastic place to run. I felt really strong on the uphill sections, tapping out a really good rhythm, focussing on good arm carriage, and kept a pace just over 7 minutes a mile, I’ve struggled to find this sort of run easy recently, maybe its been the heat and humidity, or maybe I’m just getting that marathon fitness back. Either way, this was a really enjoyable run.

I’m coming to the conclusion that my Nike Pegasus aren’t conducive to quicker miles, it feels much much easier to do my tempo runs in my Brooks Pure Cadence. I feel like my whole leg sinks into the Nikes on every stride, whereas the Brooks keep me a bit more springy and stiff.  I’ve also brought a pair of Adidas Adios 2’s out of retirement for my track sessions, I thought they’d long since had their day and have been wearing them exclusively for cycling for months now. It turns out they’re as good as they ever were on the forgiving surface of the running track. There’s life in the old shoes yet.

All in all, a good week. Shame about the long run not happening but I’m just going to call it a step-back week and move on!

Finally, I’l like to say thank you to Canyon Bikes as down to them, I’ve won a Team Katusha cycling top for predicting how many King of the Mountain points Joaquim Rodriguez would end up on during the week!
Its not quite the beautiful Speedmax TT bike I’ve had my eye on, but its a step in the right direction!
I’ve also signed up to the Strava 60 day premium trial with all this extra biking. I’ll let you know what I think in due course.

 

Leave a Reply

